Cyber Monday: Try the Rent Guarantee and get the 1st MONTH FREE! *Offer ends December 15. Book a call to claim offer or use code CYBER2023

Georgia Rent Increase Guidelines for Landlords

Key Takeaways

  • Georgia currently has no rent control ordinances on rent adjustments. If you are a landlord living in the Peach State, you can raise the rent without limitations.
  • Lawmakers are currently working on passing legislation allowing Georgia cities to implement annual rent caps so tenants have access to affordable housing. Landlords should be aware of  legislative sessions and new reforms.
  • A landlord must give the tenant at least 60 days' notice before changing the lease agreement, including raising rent.

Published on Feb 13, 2024 | Updated on Feb 13, 2024

An arrow trending up against the background of an outline of the state of Georgia

Get through your rental applications faster

Never miss a rent payment

Stress-free guaranteed renting


2024 updates to Georgia’s rent increase guidelines

Currently, there are no rent regulations in Georgia, meaning landlords can raise the rent to any price without having to worry about capping the rent. Lawmakers have been pushing for Georgia cities to have the power to enforce rent control laws during a housing crisis.

A landlord can make rules about properties they own, and if they or the tenants agree to a specific rent increase limit within the lease agreement, a county or city governing body can’t stop them.

How to raise rents in Georgia

When a fixed-term lease is up, the tenant can enter into a tenancy-at-will arrangement without a formal lease. There is no definite date for an end of the lease term with a tenancy-at-will; however, the landlord or tenant can end the tenancy at any time by giving proper notice at least 60 days in advance. If the landlord and tenant do not enter into a month-to-month lease, the landlord can give the tenant a notice that the rent will increase, and the tenant has to pay if they remain in the rental property. A landlord can also draft a lease renewal detailing the new rental prices.

Before raising the rent on a month-to-month or fixed-term lease, the landlord typically gives the tenant at least a 30-day heads-up. Here are steps you can take before setting a new rent price.

Step one: Determine your new rent price

Analyze market trends, assess cash flow, and establish clear return goals. Researching nearby rentals with similar features and amenities provides helpful insights into the average rental rates––what are those landlords charging for monthly rent? Though Georgia currently has no restrictions or rent control laws, staying informed is crucial, as the fair housing laws can change.

Step two: Prepare the notice of the rent hike

Prepare the notice of increases. It’s your preference to write a brief explanation to the tenant detailing why you are raising the rent. Hyperlink the annual rent increase and any other necessary forms, such as an addendum, if your tenant recently got a new pet and you are requesting a pet deposit.

Step three: Notify your tenant of the rent hike

Ensuring your tenant gets sufficient notice about a rent increase during the lease renewal keeps the landlord-tenant relationship running smoothly. Many landlords send a proper notice of the rent adjustment with the new lease agreement 30 days before the current rental agreement has expired. In Georgia, landlords must send a 60-day notice of rent increase.

Resolving issues about rent control

To guide you in the right direction when questions arise about the rental process, here’s a list of resources to help you stay on the right path:

FAQ: Georgia rent increase guidelines for landlords

There is no cap on how much a landlord can raise the rent when renewing the lease agreement.

The landlord should give the tenant a 60-day notice period before adjusting the rent, mainly if there is no renewal when the lease period expires and the formal lease turns into a month-to-month, tenancy-at-will rental agreement.

Retaliation against tenants is prohibited. For example, a landlord can’t raise the rental costs if a tenant reports unfair practices or uninhabitable conditions inside the rental to the housing authorities.

If the tenant continually fails to pay rent on time, the landlord may start the eviction process. When the tenant fails to pay rent on time or engages in disruptive behavior that compromises the safety of other residents, any action the landlord takes in response to these issues is not considered retaliation against the tenant. 

Landlords should seek legal advice if they are unsure of how to navigate an eviction. SingleKey offers a Rent Guarantee program that handles the process from start to finish and provides solid legal advice.

Our final thoughts

While there is an absence of rent control ordinances in Georgia, property owners should comply with landlord-tenant laws on the limits of annual increases. For important landlord documents, from a rent increase notice to inspection forms, visit Georgia’s essential documents for landlords.

Table of contents


Daily poll

Table of contents